New Zealand Athletes Gear Up for FISU World University Championships

New Zealand Athletes Gear Up for FISU World University Championships

The global stage is set and a number of New Zealand's finest athletes are gearing up to make their mark at FISU World University Championships (WUC),  as the first NZ teams are named for 2024.

Among the teams gearing up for this global showcase are New Zealand's University Futsal, Rowing, Orienteering and Triathlon teams, each with a determination to leave their mark on the international stage.

The FISU World University Championship events, held every two years, bring together talented student athletes from university and tertiary institutions worldwide to compete in various sports. New Zealand has been an active participant in the FISU World University Championship Programme through University and Tertiary Sport New Zealand (UTSNZ) since 2016, with more details on past participation and results here.

With a legacy of excellence in sport and a commitment to nurturing young talent, New Zealand's participation in these performance level events promises excitement and intense competition.

In 2024, leading the charge for New Zealand are the men’s and women’s Futsal teams, a skilled group of players ready to showcase their flair and finesse on the court. New Zealand made history at the 2022 edition of the tournament securing their highest ever placed finishes for both the men’s and women’s teams, with the women’s squad finishing 4th and the men’s squad finishing 7th. This year, both teams continue to aim to make a strong impact and challenge the best teams from across the globe with the tournament set to be played in Shanghai, China 10 - 16 June.

In addition to Futsal, two rowers have been selected by Rowing NZ to compete at the FISU World University Rowing Championship Regatta in Rotterdam, Netherlands, from 3rd to 5th July. Men’s single sculler, James Scott (University of Waikato), and Women’s single sculler, Sophie Egnot-Johnson (Massey University). With the strength and depth of university-level rowing in New Zealand these two athletes will be sure to test their fellow competitors.

Adding to the roster of talented athletes is the NZ University Orienteering team. Ten NZ tertiary student athletes will take on the world’s best in Bulgaria, Bansko on 1 – 5 August as selected by Orienteering NZ

Also in August, New Zealand will be represented by triathlete Hannah Howell (University of Waikato) who will race in Gdansk, Poland 30 - 31 Aug. 

As teams and athletes finalise their preparations and set their sights on the upcoming championship events, the support and encouragement from both their universities and their respective NSOs serve as a driving force behind their pursuit of excellence. New Zealand's involvement in the FISU World University Championship not only highlights the country's sporting prowess but also underscores its commitment to nurturing the talents and aspirations of its student-athletes on the global stage.

As the countdown begins to the FISU World University Championship 2024, stay tuned as these New Zealand's teams carry not just the hopes of their universities but also the pride of a nation known for its sporting excellence.

FISU World University Games 2024 Team Selections

Congratultions to the following student athletes:


Men's Team List  Women's Team List 
Charlie Bayley - University of Canterbury

Sean Beresford - Victoria University of Wellington

Ben Cameron - University of Canterbury

Max Ericksen - University of Waikato

Tyler Ericksen - University of Waikato

Hamish Grey - Universidad Católica de Murcia

Ethan Martin - University of Waikato

Adam Paulsen - Massey University

Casey Sharplin - University of Waikato

Patrick Steele - University of Waikato

Denny Twigg - University of Auckland

Davis Vhavha - University of Waikato

Logan Wisnewski - University of Waikato

Mark Zimmerman - University of Canterbury


Luca Barclay - Victoria University of Wellington

Liam Percy-Fysh - Eastern Institute of Technology

Mackenzie Falco - University of Canterbury

Ella James - University of Auckland

Ellena Firth - University of Canterbury

Emily Gillion - Massey University

Jordana Bremner - University of Auckland

Jamie Evans - University of Waikato

Britney-Lee Nicholson - University of Canterbury

Zoe Barrott - Victoria University of Wellington

Milla Green - Massey University

Alosi Bloomfield - University of Auckland

Hannah Reddy - AUT

Dani Ohlsson - Victoria University of Wellington

Ashley Vincent - AUT

Samantha Whyte - University of Canterbury


Hannah Milligan - AUT

Margarida Dias - Otago University

Caelin Patterson - Victoria University of Wellington


James Scott - University of Waikato - Men’s Single

Sophie Egnot-Johnson - Massey University - Women’s Single



Katie Cory-Wright – Victoria University Wellington

Kaia Jorgensen – University of Canterbury

Briana Steven – University of Canterbury

Zara Stewart- University of Canterbury

Cameron Bonar – University of Canterbury

Nicholas Green – University of Auckland

Felix Hunt - University of Canterbury

Jacob Knoef – University of Canterbury

Joseph Lynch - University of Canterbury

Will Tidswell – University of Canterbury



Hannah Howell (University of Waikato)


Posted: Sun 28 Apr 2024