Annual Event Awards

UTSNZ have a number of awards that are presented both annually and at each event to recognise outstanding performance.

UTSNZ Overall National Tertiary Champion - awarded to the university with the greatest combined points total of the UTSNZ sanctioned national sporting events and championships. All UTSNZ events in each calendar year count towards the Overall University Champion for that year.  The announcement and presentation of 'the Shield' to the UTSNZ Overall University Champion is made at last calendar event of the year.

UTSNZ National Tertiary Championship Teams - Awarding of Perpetual Trophies. Perpetual trophies for all UTSNZ sporting competitions are awarded to the winning teams of each National Tertiary Championship event.  Perpetual trophies are awarded at the event prize giving straight after the last game/round has been completed

UTNZ National Tertiary Champions -  Awarding of Medals. Championship Medals are awarded at all UTSNZ national sporting events and championships to individual athletes and/or individual athletes within winning teams for 1st place

UTSNZ Tournament Teams - For some UTSNZ National Tertiary Championship events a tournament team may be selected. Selections will be made to recognise outstanding performance during the championship. The announcement and presentation of Tournament Teams will be made at the  medal ceremony at the completion of the competition. Where specified these teams may have the opportunity to represent New Zealand at World University Championships and/or other selection events.

NZ University National Blues Awards


Historically, the former university sport entity University Sport New Zealand acknowledged and celebrated the commitment and achievements of university students in their chosen sporting endeavor through the National Blues Awards.

The "Blue" was a prestigious award for excellence in sport and recognised national excellence through to world champions. A sporting "Blue" was something that students were extremely proud to receive and something that could be used in job applications and resumes to show commitment and dedication. 

Currently NZ universities continue to run their own regional Blues Awards and more information on these (including criteria) can be found by contacting the specific University directly. National level Blues Awards ceased in 2011. University and Tertiary Sport NZ, established in 2016, has however now taken over ownership and the IP associated with the national level awards and a full review of the former programme will be completed as part of the UTSNZ 2018 - 2020 Strategic Plan.  

Further information on any reinstatement of the National Blues Awards will be communicated as developed. 

University Sporting Blues NZ